Archiving Revit Projects

This blog post was originally written for the Managed Design blog. Managed Design is now a U.S. CAD company, so please check back here at www.uscad.com/blog for more written articles from Philip Charlson and our new U.S. CAD Minnesota team.

Archiving a Revit Project

There are many companies out there that are working in Revit. Now, whether its architecture, MEP, or structure, all companies need to know what to do with a project when they are completed with it. The task becomes to archive a Revit project and get it to a safe location. Below are directions for a couple common scenarios when a project has been completed within Revit.

Archive a Revit project manually

  1. Confirm that all users have saved to the central file and relinquished all of the worksets if you are using worksharing.
  2. Copy custom content, such as materials, families, details, schedules, and so on, from the project library to the corresponding folders in the firm library.
  3. Go to Manage Links, if you have linked files in your project, and set the links to be relative paths. If you need to reopen the Revit project after archiving make sure to use the Detach from Central option.
  4. Transfer the necessary modified project standards into the firm project template.
  5. Save the project, following your company’s standards for archival location and media format.
READ NEXT:  Infrastructure Universe Vol. 32 - The Expanding Universe of Infrastructure

If you have the eTransmit Add-In installed

  1. Don’t open the Revit file that you want archived. Instead, open Revit and go to the Add-Ins tab and click on Transmit a model.
  2. Find the location of the Revit file you want by clicking Browse Model.
  3. Choose an archive location where you want to store the file along with associated files by selecting Browse folders.
  4. You have the option to include transmittal and error reports.
  5. Choose which files you want included with your Revit project, linked files, CAD links, markups, external keynote file, decal image files. You can also attach other files as well.
  6. If files are older and you want to upgrade them to a current release, you have the option to Cleanup (pre-20XX models). You can choose to disable worksets, purge unused items.
  7. You have the option to include sheets and either All Views, Only including views on sheets, or Views on sheets and selected view types (not on sheets)
  8. The other option is to Remove sheets but include All Views or Selected view types
  9. If you want this to be a repeatable process at the bottom of the dialog box you can choose to Save the settings for the next time you use the eTransmit. You can simply change the model you want to eTransmit.
READ NEXT:  Infrastructure Universe Vol. 34 – News and Updates

Have questions? Leave a comment below!

Related Posts

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.